Beyond These Walls

Learning everywhere

MOOC: Say what? Let the #etmooc adventure begin.

I signed up for a MOOC last year, at the time I had no idea what it was, I just knew I was curious and intrigued.

This time around I have a better sense what I am diving in to and am brimming with delicious excitement wrapped in nervous anticipation (Can I keep up? Will I keep up? Will this work for me?). Probably this is a feeling shared by many who are new to the MOOC world. That said I feel confident that this is the path I want to explore more than any other right now and when I look down it I see growth, adventure and expansion.

Although this is the continuation down a path I am already on and started over a year ago, this new adventure feels the beginning of a new chapter. In this chapter I feel more in charge of my learning, have a handle on tools to amplify my learning and I am 100% ready to be part of a collaborative process.

I might as well be going to Narnia, considering the reactions of people in my life who say: “A MOOC? What? Why? Don’t get it!” when I tell them about this new project. Soon I will be able to articulate more clearly for them just exactly what I am up to with #etmooc

Looking forward to diving in and discovering my first MOOC experience with such a diverse group!

Let’s go!!

6 responses to “MOOC: Say what? Let the #etmooc adventure begin.

  1. Mr. Michael Buist (@BuistBunch) January 12, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    Diverse is definitely the word I’d use for this cast of characters. Looking forward to day one of #etmooc. I’ll be blogging at http://buistbunch.wordpress.com/.

  2. CogDog January 13, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Thanks for sending us your blog URL, Carolyn- i set it up to look for posts in your blog with the #etmooc tag — http://carolyndurley.com/tag/etmooc/

  3. JudyArzt (@JudyArzt) January 14, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    Watched your Animoto. Wondering which subscription plan you have. Do you have the premium one? I have made several and signed up for a paid version, but after several months, the account reverted to Lite. Wondering why, and wondering if I should go for one of the paid versions again.

    • Carolyn Durley January 14, 2013 at 6:38 pm

      Hi Judy,
      I have a plus account which is $36/yr., this seemed worth it for the extra features it gives and the ease of making videos with. The pro account is a big jump cost wise and not it offers anything more for the money.
      Hope that helps,

      c

      • JudyArzt (@JudyArzt) January 14, 2013 at 7:27 pm

        The Plus account is the one I signed up for in the summer, but when I went to embed an Animoto into my blog, I got message I need Pro and now had Lite. In any event, in the old days, students in my class could embed with the free version. Not sure why my Animoto account reverted to Lite, though I signed up for one-year subscription. Need to check billing etc. to see what explains the change. Thanks for your reply.

Leave a Reply

