Beyond These Walls

Learning everywhere

#etmooc Session 1: Idea Burrs

There were many “idea burrs” (ideas that stick) from this afternoon’s first intro #etmooc session. I decided I would drill down into one topic and try to get some traction. The topic that pulled me in was the fourth one, Open Movement, of the 5 (Connected Learning, Digital Storytelling, Digital Literacy, and Digital Citizenship) thatwe will be exploring further in #etmooc.

The open movement is the topic that I know least about yet find intriguing. I also found the Aaron Swartz story both compelling and tragic, which drew me in further.

Alec recommended we read Prosecutor as bully  by Larry Lessing as well, he recommended Larry’s Ted Talk.

I read Larry’s blog and I have to admit that although I found it interesting in a general sense, it did not provide me with any deep insight into the very complicated issue surrounding Aaron’s removal of digital articles from a MIT archive. I can only summarize very broadly because that is all I am able to do at this moment. At the heart of this matter, are the questions of who owns knowledge? Who controls it? Where and how do we define the lines of ownership?

I found the Ted Talks more compelling (albeit a lot to process at 9:00 PM for the first time).  My very general and first take away were a big pile of sticky questions:

Where do ideas begin and end? Can ideas be ever completely “owned” as we do we property? Does it all come down to control of resources as a means to be powerful and this in part motivates those in control to “own” as many ideas as possible? Is this similar in some ways to how in Science we are struggling with the questions of who and how people (companies) can own, buy, re-mix and alter life via Recombinant DNA technology?

Maybe ideas are like DNA, that can change and evolve, mutate and be of someone but never completely “theirs”. Maybe ideas, as DNA evolve in spite of us, rather that because of us.

Lessing’s quote below summed it up:

….in response to this new use of culture using digital technologies, the law has not greeted this Sousa revival with very much common sense. Instead, the architecture of copyright law and the architecture of digital technologies, as they interact, have produced the presumption that these activities are illegal. Because if copyright law at its core regulates something called copies, then in the digital world the one fact we can’t escape is that every single use of culture produces a copy. Every single use therefore requires permission; without permission, you are a trespasser. You’re a trespasser with about as much sense as these people were trespassers.

This reminded me of  Kirby Ferguson’s Embracing the Remix. I like when a new idea connects to another older idea!

 

14 responses to “#etmooc Session 1: Idea Burrs

  1. Cathy Anderson January 15, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Great blog posting..great insight and I really enjoyed your selection of Ted Talks..I have not seen. I have so much to catch up on! I love seeing the perspective of others as we work together in #etmooc

    • Carolyn Durley January 15, 2013 at 6:23 pm

      Hi Cathy, appreciate the comment. Yes agree with you, that this experience is all about getting new perspectives and being willing to share your own with others. Already many new insights and lots to ponder!
      Carolyn

  2. lisamnoble January 15, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Rodd Lucier (who’s part of the #etmooc, too) and blogs as The clever sheep (tweets that way too), is digging into this idea of people who are able to make great connections between stuff they’ve seen/read a while ago, and things that they’re being introduced to. He sees it as a really important role. Thanks for making some connections!

    • Carolyn Durley January 15, 2013 at 6:35 pm

      Hi Lisa, I’ll check out the Clever Sheep’s blog and see what they are up to, thanks for that recommendation. I am finding more and more that I learn as I connect back to an idea or thought that was in a holding pattern. Going back and pulling it up again (in relation to the new topic) seems to give both ideas more context for me in my brain.
      Hope that makes sense 🙂
      thanks for sharing,
      Carolyn
      (@okmbio)

  3. VanessaVaile January 15, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Thanks. Since I missed orientation (connectivity problems), postings like this one make it possible for me to keep up…& looking forward to following your blog

    • Gayle Kolodny Cole January 16, 2013 at 2:20 am

      Ditto what VanessaVaile said. I missed the session and feel like you caught me up well here. I appreciate it and hope sometime I can return the favor.

      • Carolyn Durley January 19, 2013 at 4:14 pm

        Thanks Gayle, I am not sure I did the entire session justice with my focus and summary, but I decided I would try and focus on one thing, rather than spread myself thin. Still processing these ideas, which are fairly new to me, so I hope I did them justice.

        Appreciate the comment,
        Carolyn

    • Carolyn Durley January 19, 2013 at 4:19 pm

      Hi Vanessa, thanks for taking the time to comment. Too bad you missed the session and hopefully you will be able to connect this week ahead.

      Carolyn

  4. karacjacobs January 17, 2013 at 1:25 am

    Hello. You should watch Larry Lessig’s other Ted Talk: Re-examinging the Remix too http://www.ted.com/talks/lessig_nyed.html Fascinating. The part that is really interesting is the fact that there is a generation of students growing up who believe that certain laws (and the government that continues to uphold the old ways) are not to be followed. They are growing up as “criminals” (because they get all of their music illegally). Lessig talks about how that can do some serious damage to our democracy. Check it out! And start talk about about Creative Commons instead of copyright! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • Carolyn Durley January 19, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      A crazy first week in #etmooc world, it started off and I felt on top of everything, then whoosh it all got away on me, so I apologize for the delay on the reply.
      I watched RiP: A remix manifesto http://vimeo.com/8040182 which pushed my thinking around this topic for me. This whole consideration is “new” to my thinking so I am scrambling (a good thing) a bit to get caught up. Thanks for the Ted Talk rec, I will put that on my list as I try to process this topic.
      But yes, I see the culture amongst youth as very different in terms of ownership of content and see how this is causing clashes with the old established ways of doing things. Such interesting times.
      Appreciate the comment and insight,
      Carolyn

    • Carolyn Durley January 19, 2013 at 4:25 pm

      Hi Kara,
      Thanks for the Ted Talk rec, I will definitely watch as I try to move ahead with my thinking in this new terrain. I watched RiP: A Remix manifesto http://vimeo.com/8040182, which filled me with ideas and thoughts that I hope to process this weekend in a blog post 🙂
      I see this new re-mix culture with youth, around ownership of content and the ensuing clashes with the established (older) status quo. It is such an interesting time!
      Yes, I do need to get my head wrapped around Creative Commons, it has been on my radar screen, but I have not given it any time to figure out and embrace.
      Appreciate the comment,
      Carolyn

  5. Sam Boswell January 19, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Carolyn,
    Feels porous this learning process, doesn’t it? I love the way you’re articulating commitment to chaos! Are you a Margaret Wheatley fan?
    Magical weaving of comment/ reply cycle shows the iterative nature of this engagement (learn, unlearn, relearn).
    See you at the MOOC face 🙂
    Sam

    • Carolyn Durley January 20, 2013 at 2:59 pm

      Hi Sam, thanks for dropping by over here and for the comment. Yes this cycle, kind of like “pop beads”: connect this one to the next and then to this one and so on. I will definitely check out Wheatley, I have heard of her but to connected directly with her thinking. Thnaks for the new bead to add on,
      best,
      Carolyn

Leave a Reply

